How to revoke Google access for third-party applications

How to revoke Google access for third-party applications

Google makes it easy to manage your rights for third-party applications, which you should do every time.

If you’ve been on the internet for a while, chances are you’ll be able to create a Google Account – and if you’ve ever used a smartphone, chances are you can log in to one or two apps using that account. But as the years go by, applications come and go – while the rights you share don’t. If you want to keep your account safe against the next inevitable data breach, mass hacking, or the dark developer, you sometimes have to clean up your rights.

Fortunately, Google makes it easy to manage your rights for third-party applications. If you have a few minutes and haven’t seen an app that has access to your account for a while, it’s worth checking out and maybe revoking some privileges.

1. Log in to your Google account

Enter  https://myaccount.google.com  in your browser or just click our link.

2. Click the Security tab

Here, you’ll find information about 2-step verification, recovery options, and the various devices you have registered on Google. Indeed, if you have 15 minutes or less to think, this whole page is a great resource to keep your account safe.

3. Click “Manage third party applications”

Scroll down until you see this option; is near the bottom of the page.

4. Check application permissions

Please take a minute to view the application’s permissions. You may notice several different types of access rights, including “Third-party applications with account access”, “Sign in with Google” and “Google Apps”. Each application category requires a different level of permission, which can include your name, email address, profile picture, or access to Google services, like Drive.

There are no right or wrong answers which applications “should” have access to; is whatever you are comfortable with. But of course, if you see an application that you don’t remember installing, you should find out what it is and revoke permissions if you encounter problems.

To help you in this process, you can click on any application and Google will show you when you install that application and what kind of information it can access. Of course, if something goes wrong with full access to your account, you should change your Google password (and  activate 2FA , if you haven’t already) after deleting the suspicious application.

5. Delete access rights

If you encounter an application that you have not used for a long time, it is better to remove access rather than risk of breaching some kind of connection. Just click on the criminal application, then click the Delete access button. You will get a confirmation screen, you should click OK, and that’s it.

Also, don’t be too worried about accidentally revoking access for an application you might need. If you revoke an app’s permissions, it will simply ask you again when you start the application.

Also remember that you do not want to revoke permissions of each application in principle. Some of these provide useful services, such as saving games on the cloud, digital movie library or .ZIP file extractor for online files. Also, remember that if you pay attention to the rights you gave in the first place, you won’t have to revoke them later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *